Denise Swanson - New York Times Best-Selling Author
 (Photo by David Stybr)
   Back     Next   
Between a Book and a Hard Place
Bibliography and Reading Group Guides
On the Lam
Skye Writing
Home Cookin'
Links and
Press Kit
Schedule an


Denise Swanson

Denise Swanson, The New York Times best-selling author of the Scumble River Mystery series, began writing after coming face-to-face with evil. She quickly decided she would rather write about villains than encounter them in her daily life. She was also shocked to discover that getting a book published was nearly as difficult as vanquishing scoundrels.

Devereaux's Dime Store Mysteries

Her Devereaux's Dime Store Mystery series features Devereaux Sinclair, the happy owner of the old-fashioned shop in Shadow Bend, a small town near Kansas City, Missouri. If only murder didn't keep landing on her doorstep...

Devereaux's Dime Store Mysteries
  Book 1 - March 2012: Little Shop of Homicide
  Book 2 - March 2013: Nickeled-and-Dimed to Death
  Book 3 - March 2014: Dead Between the Lines
  Book 4 - March 2015: Dying for a Cupcake
  Book 5 - March 2016: Between a Book and a Hard Place

Denise was nominated for RT Magazine's Career Achievement Award. Her fellow nominees included Sue Grafton and Janet Evanovich. She has spoken at hundreds of library events and other civic organizations. She has also been interviewed on radio and TV.

Scumble River Mysteries

Her continuing Scumble River Mystery series is set in Scumble River, a fictional small town in Illinois, and features Skye Denison, a full-figured school psychologist-sleuth who is torn between a handsome police chief and an urbane coroner. All of her books are in multiple printings and many have featured in the Barnes & Noble Mass-Market Mystery, IMBA and BookScan Best-Sellers lists. They have also been BookSense 76 Picks and Top Picks for RT Magazine, as well as nominated for the Agatha Award, the Mary Higgins Clark Award, and the Reviewers Choice Award. Several of her books débuted on The New York Times Best-Sellers List!

Scumble River Mysteries
     Book 1 - July 2000:
Murder of a Small-Town Honey
     Book 2 - April 2001:
Murder of a Sweet Old Lady
     Book 3 - April 2002:
Murder of a Sleeping Beauty
     Book 4 - April 2003:
Murder of a Snake in the Grass
     Book 5 - November 2003:
Murder of a Barbie and Ken
     Book 6 - July 2004:
Murder of a Pink Elephant
     Book 7 - July 2005:
Murder of a Smart Cookie
     Book 8 - August 2006:
Murder of a Real Bad Boy
     Book 9 - April 2007:
Murder of a Botoxed Blonde
     Book 10 - April 2008:
Murder of a Chocolate-Covered Cherry
     Book 11 - April 2009:
Murder of a Royal Pain
     Book 12 - April 2010:
Murder of a Wedding Belle
     Book 13 - March 2011:
Murder of a Bookstore Babe
     Book 14 - October 2011:
Murder of a Creped Suzette
     Book 15 - September 2012:
Murder of the Cat's Meow
     Book 16 - September 2013:
Murder of a Stacked Librarian
     Book 17 - September 2014:
Murder of a Needled Knitter
     Book 18 - September 2015:
Murder of an Open Book
Change of Heart romances

The Change of Heart romance series is about a group of small town friends who all need a fresh start and a change of outlook in order to find their forever loves.

Change of Heart Romance Series
  Prequel: Sweet Girl Undone
  Book 1: Good Girl Overboard
  Book 2: Lucky Girl Hits the Jackpot
  Book 3: Smart Girl Swept Away

Denise Swanson lives in Illinois with her husband, classical composer David Stybr ( ), and their cool black cat Boomerang. Unlike her protagonist Skye, Denise realizes she can never really move very far from her hometown. But several times a year she and Dave sneak away for a little adventure.

Independent Music:
Andante Cantabile for String Orchestra by David Stybr (5 minutes, © 2004)

David Stybr & Denise Swanson

  Back     Next     Home     Top  

Created 25 December 1999 * Updated 29 February 2016
© 2016 Denise Swanson * Der Webmeister:
David Stybr

This web site is purely for entertainment and information purposes. We hope that you enjoy our simple yet informative format.